top of page
  • mqmagazine

Day Trip: An Afternoon at Butterfield Farms

Updated: May 23, 2020

By Maya Stoffer


My friends and I arrived at Butterfield Farms at approximately 3 p.m. The farm is located off campus, but it’s not so far that it requires the whole day. Upon arriving, we were greeted by large letters spelling out “Butterfield Farms,” and an "Open" sign before we even got out of the car. There were two other cars parked in the free parking lot. We went through the main building before getting to the specialized fall activities. Two friendly staff members welcomed us to Butterfield Farms and told us to ask if we had any questions.


The first thing we did was go on the hayride. The ride allowed me to see the whole farmland in the bright sun. The tractor stopped at the back of the acres where there were cows and corn to feed them. The cows must’ve known they would get an extra treat when the tractor pulled up, because once it was in sight, the cows, including the small calves, ran up to it.


A Butterfield staff member told my friends and I some interesting facts about the cows, like how there were four calves, and they were born a few months back. I have never fed cows, so this was a new, exciting experience. It is definitely a cute spot to take photos with your friends if you are looking for that. Also, if you have a large group, you are able to go on the hayride with just your group. I would rate this aspect of Butterfield Farms 10/10 because it wasn’t an aspect that I have experienced at any other farm I have gone to, and the cows were friendly and fun to feed.


After the tractor ride, we wanted to go through the corn maze. One of the kind staff members provided us with a map so we wouldn’t get lost in the vast fields of corn. She also said that there were clues hidden within the maze, and that if we found all of them, we could get a small pumpkin free. My friends and I were determined to find all of the clues to get some free pumpkins. However, the corn maze took longer than we expected due to the fact that we got lost. Eventually, we did find the emergency exit that led to the road. We ran into some other people inside the corn maze, but it wasn’t crowded at all. I would give the corn maze a rating of 8/10 because, even with the map, it was confusing to figure out how to get out. But, it did have adorable Disney-themed clues, which I enjoyed.


While the tractor hayride and the corn maze are the two main fall-themed activities, the farm also had multiple other features about it. One was the greenhouse, which had perennials and mums for sale. There was a multitude of options to pick from, all vibrant and spry looking. Afterwards, my friends and I returned back to the main building to look at the merchandise. While the building looked small from the outside, there was a diverse range of items. There were fresh fruits and vegetables: apples, zucchini, tomatoes, squash, peppers, and corn. In addition, Butterfield offered classic farm items, such as jams, jelly, apple cider, and maple syrup. Goat milk soap, a mixture of packaged candies, and jewelry were some items that I was surprised to see being sold. Nevertheless, the packaged candies looked unique and delicious. The soaps and jewelry appeared to be of high quality, something parents or grandparents of college students may be interested in purchasing. However, the diversity of the items was a little overwhelming, which is why I rate them a 9/10.


Butterfield Farms also had a vast assortment of pumpkins and gourds. While they had the traditional, bright-orange pumpkins, they also offered small, white pumpkins, textured pumpkins with warts, gigantic orange ones, and spiraling gourds. Green, twisted gourds and multi-colored ones were the most interesting ones to see and touch. Since my friends and I did find all of the clues in the corn maze, we were all able to pick out a small pumpkin. I chose a hand-sized, white one so that I could paint it one weekend. Like many others, I consider pumpkins to be a crucial part of fall. Butterfield Farms had an impressive assortment of pumpkins, differing in both size and shape, earning them a 10/10 rating.



After averaging all of my ratings for the individual aspects of the farm, I concluded that the whole farm deserved a 9.25/10. With cow feeding, corn mazes, apple cider, and pumpkin picking, Butterfield Farms does not lack in the main attractions I look for during the fall season. However, if you are not a big fall person, the location still offers various things for you, too. There are several photo opportunities for friends and family members, as well as a variety of food items for all to munch on. Overall, Butterfield Farms is a fantastic local place for college students!



5 views0 comments
bottom of page