top of page
  • mqmagazine

Dogs on Campus: Does Living With an Emotional Support Dog Help?

Updated: Jun 16, 2020

Column by: Icarus O’Brien-Scheffer

My first year on campus sucked.  In addition to some awful stuff that went down with one of my professors first semester, which really set the mood for the rest of the year, other mental health issues of mine came to the forefront. Going to college is a huge life transition, and even though I was doing alright on the academic front, in every other aspect of my life, I was floundering. I missed a home I didn’t have—nostalgic memories from a simpler time when I didn’t have to contemplate myself or life in general—and my mutt, a boxer mix named Hope who I had since first grade, was diagnosed with cancer and fought the disease throughout my second semester.  Needless to say, it was a lot to deal with, and I was barely coping.

Before college, I had occupied my time with speech and debate and the Cleveland Orchestra Youth Chorus, so I had high school on weekdays and activities all day Saturdays and Sundays.  College upset that full schedule, and I couldn’t ignore my problems anymore. Miami provided counseling, which helped, but I needed more. I didn’t motivation to keep going.  

My new dog, a rescue yorkie-chihuahua mix, Mr. Rogers, helped me stay in school.  It was a bit of a struggle to get him, as I needed a doctor and therapist note and to register with SDS (Student Disabilities Services), and there were complications over summer with finding a dog that could comfortably be in a college dorm, but it was worth it.

However, while they can help, emotional support dogs are not for everyone. Here are the pros and cons of having one on campus. Pros:

  • Ever have a rough day that makes you break down and cry?  Well, your dog can help.  An article from Harvard Medical School titled, “Having a dog can helps your heart--literally” says that studies have shown dog owners often have lower blood pressure than non-dog owners. This is likely because pets have a calming effect on people, and dog owners get more exercise.

  • The same article also states that, “There is some evidence that owning a dog is associated with lower cholesterol and triglyceride levels. A large study focusing on this question found that dog owners had lower cholesterol and triglyceride levels than non-owners, and that these differences weren't explainable by diet, smoking, or body mass index (BMI)”.  Though these benefits are not a guarantee, there is definitely an observable correlation between certain types of improved health and pet ownership.

  • If you have trouble organizing your schedule, the responsibility of keeping a dog on a schedule for potty breaks and meals can help. Personally, my little dog Mr. Rogers has improved the frequency in which I leave my room, and I consistently get up at 8:30 AM.  Getting up at the same time every day has helped me maintain a balanced schedule, and there is the added benefit of cuddling a cutie every day after our morning walk.

  • If you struggle to start conversations and meet people, having a dog with you can help make it so that people approach you and start chatting.  I have experienced this phenomenon, and appreciate the goodness it brings to both myself, others, and Mr. Rogers.

Cons:

  • The added responsibility of a pet may be too much for some people.  For those that are easily overwhelmed, their pet’s health and needs might be too stressful to look after.  If you can’t take care of an animal, do not get one!

  • Depending on the pet, it can worsen yours or others’ allergies.  Be aware of yours and other peoples’ needs, as well as allergies your pet may have—their health is subject to flaws just as ours is.

  • You have to have a doctor/therapist-proven need for an emotional support animal if you intend to get one to live with you on campus. The very process of getting registered, on top of finding the right animal for you, can add a great deal of stress to your life, even if the long-term benefits may make the short-term stress worth it.

Though I would not recommend just anyone to go through the process of getting an ESA, or a pet in general, who doesn’t absolutely need one for their mental health, I can’t deny the many benefits having frequent contact with dogs and animals in general can bring.  Whether you want to get a pet after graduation while living in an apartment, or might have to be the owner or live with someone who owns a dog while still in college, consider what is right for you. It might be a difference of the dog’s breed, or individual behavior, maintenance, health requirements, or monetary costs and demandingness. A pet is a huge responsibility, and an ESA is an even greater one.  Regardless, sometimes the pros do outweigh the cons.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

19 Years

bottom of page